A Small World After All

A glimpse into the incredible places that make up our planet

Laura Arango

Time for the Laura Arango biography.

This will help you know more about me than just my resume.

My name is Laura Arango. I was born in Bogotá, Colombia on July 28, 1993. I went to a private catholic school there, but barely remember any of my life in Colombia because I was so young. I lived there until I was 7 years old when my mother and I moved to the United States. I grew up in Boca Raton, Florida in the city that my grandparents and many of my aunts and uncles lived. My life in Boca Raton was surrounded by family which allowed me to continue practicing my spanish and is the reason I am still fluent today. I started second grade at Del Prado Elementary School where I made my first American friends and participated in an ESOL class (which teaches English to non-native students). I quickly learned the difference between being “by the door” and “in the door” and I think after that I never really had problems with English again. My middle school and high school years were full of learning and awkward stages much like everyone else. I became involved in musical theater in high school since I always loved music and figured I could give acting a try. I was one of the lead roles in Spanish River High School’s productions of Fiddler on the Roof (Tzeitel, for those of you that know the show), and my senior year was Sarah Brown in Guys and Dolls. Theater took over my life for those four years but somehow I managed to balance that with several AP classes. I graduated high school in 2011 and moved on to bigger and better things like the Gator Nation. I am currently a third year telecommunications and political science double major at the University of Florida in Gainesville, Florida. I am also a french minor and am looking forward to studying abroad in Paris for the Fall of 2014. I am also currently studying for the LSAT since I hope to start law school in the Fall of 2015 and pursue my dreams of becoming a lawyer.

Hope you enjoyed a glimpse into the life of Laura Arango!

4 comments on “Laura Arango

  1. Sarah
    March 24, 2014

    Laura, it’s so cool you were born in Colombia and can speak Spanish fluently – I can’t speak a lick of Spanish (or French for that matter)! But I’m sure being multilingual will only help you in your future endeavors of becoming a lawyer! I, like you, was also really involved in musical theater as a kid and attribute that part of my childhood to my love for public speaking and aspirations to work in the communications field in the future! (I also know who Tzeitel is – big role! Congrats!) Good luck in Paris – I can’t wait to read all about it!

  2. Kayla
    March 26, 2014

    Laura,
    I think your aspirations are so impressive, and it seems like you are well on your way! From moving to America and not speaking any English to double majoring and planning for law school…it seems like you are a smart and driven person.

    I am from Deerfield Beach and lived right on the outskirts of Boca, so I can totally relate to growing up in that area.

    Good luck in Paris and have an amazing time!

  3. taylornones
    March 28, 2014

    You truly are one of the most fun and interesting girls I’ve ever met! I know that your short time in Columbia really shaped you into the awesome person that you are today and it is so admirable how much that culture is still a part of your life. I’m excited to hear about your study abroad trip and see what awesome experiences you get out of that. I also can’t wait to see the driven lawyer that you’ll become one day and I couldn’t of asked for a better person to have such an influence on me during my freshman year. Yay telecom 🙂
    Thanks for sharing about you with all of us.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: The Tipping Point | A Small World After All

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2014 by .
