A Small World After All

A glimpse into the incredible places that make up our planet

It’s Great UF

If you’ve kept up with my blog then you’ve probably seen my post about Gainesville and how awesome it is. (And if you hadn’t then you should probably check it out!) But I truly think that what makes Gainesville so wonderful for me is the opportunity to study what I love at the University of Florida.

Image

I am extremely lucky to be a part of the College of Journalism and Communications here at UF. From taking classes in ethics and media law, to learning how to write, report and produce news stories, this school has taught me everything I need to go out into the real world.

Image

And sure, you might be thinking “isn’t that what a school is supposed to do? Teach you what you need to know?” and the answer is yes, but my school does so much more. Through the Center for Media Innovation and Research (CMIR), I have been able to put everything I learn into practice. The CMIR gives us the opportunity to work in a real state of the art newsroom where we can work on our news stories just like we will in our jobs in the future (and maybe a little better since the equipment is as modern as it gets). Working in the newsroom has allowed me to learn to thrive in the constant fast-paced atmosphere of news.

Image

 

Even though my focus has been primarily on news reporting, I have also been trained to shoot my own video and edit it as well through Final Cut Pro which is used in many newsrooms around the world. Through the facilities the CMIR has provided, I have also been able to interview many important people (an opportunity that I never would have thought possible while in college). Among those is Congressman John Lewis who came to speak at a rally in Gainesville a couple of years ago.

Image

Overall, I have had the most incredible experience as a hopeful broadcast journalist at UF. The hands on experience has not only been fun and informative but I know, will separate me from other job applicants who have not been exposed to the same environment as I have. I only have one semester left here in Gainesville but I will always be grateful for the amazing opportunities the University of Florida has given me. 

It’s Great to be a Florida Gator.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2014 by .

Navigation

